Announcements‎ > ‎High School News‎ > ‎

First outdoor meet, first win for L-S boys (Hometown Press article)

posted Apr 9, 2017, 7:02 PM by Shane Ehresman

    First outdoor meet, first win for L-S boys

After winning 13 out of 19 events – including six of seven relays and three field events – it’s safe to say the Lynnville-Sully boys dominated their first outdoor meet of the year. The boys were named meet champs at BCLUW (Conrad) on Tuesday, Mar. 28, continuing the winning spree from last year. The Hawks defeated host BCLUW, 191-160.50, and put over 100 points between first and the third-place team, GMG-Garwin.

“It was a great night to get out and run, and we saw some outstanding efforts and performances from our guys, old to young,” said L-S Head Coach Mike Parkinson. “We were very pleased with the results, not just the win, but mostly the effort the guys put into this meet. We believe that every great season must start somewhere, and we look to keep the momentum going into the rest of the year.”

Junior Brevin Hansen (right) exchanges the baton with sophomore Rylan James in the 4x200 relay in which the Hawks claimed first.

As they have done the past few years, the Hawks really made the field events count. In the long jump, junior Drake Ehresman placed first with a personal best jump of 18’8”. Junior Brevin Hansen placed fifth with a jump of 17’1”. Junior Carson Dunsbergen won the high jump, clearing 6’, and Ehresman cleared 5’4” to tie for second. Sophomore Rylan James placed second in the shot put with a throw of 41’ 4.75”. Junior Jesse Van Wyk placed second in the discus with a personal best throw of 115’8”, and sophomore Grant Wehrle threw a personal best of 105’1” to place sixth.

BCLUW was the first time the boys competed in the sprint medley relay (100-100-200-400) since it is a new event in boys track this year. The team set the school record with a time of 1:38 and won with juniors Sage Zylstra and Corey McCoy and sophomores Nate Stock and Tyson Vander Linden.

The distance medley relay also placed first with junior Carson Dunsbergen, Stock, Vander Linden, and McCoy clocking a 4:01.

Junior Sage Zylstra stays out front as he wins the 100-m dash in 11.88.

In the 110-m high hurdles, senior Ryan Hofer placed first with a time of 15.40, and Vander Leest placed third with a time of 17.05. In the 400-m hurdles, Vander Linden won with a time of 58.84.

The 4x100 relay placed first with a time of 47.20 with senior Caden Dunsbergen, Hofer, Zylstra, and Stock. The weightman’s 4x100 relay also placed first with sophomore Evan Squires, senior Colten Arment, Van Wyk, and Wehrle with a time of 50.90. Caden Dunsbergen, juniors Kemper Lukehart and Brevin Hansen, and James placed first in the 4x200 relay with a time of 1:41. The 4x400 relay team ran a time of 3:40, placing first with Vander Leest, Vander Linden, McCoy, and Carson Dunsbergen.

“Having some competition was really good for the team. We dominated and continued our winning streak from last year,” said Zylstra.

In individual running events, Zylstra won the 100-m dash with a time of 11.88, and Lukehart placed fourth in 12.71. Freshman Ethan Wyma placed fourth in the 200-m dash with a time of 26.49. Wyma also placed fifth in the 400-m dash in 1:00.

Junior Jesse Van Wyk throws the discus at BCLUW, where he earned second after having a personal best throw of 115’8”.

McCoy earned the title in the 800-m run with a time of 2:09.62, followed by junior Cody Gibbs (fifth, 2:27). In the 1600-m run, junior Josh Dunsbergen ran a personal best of 5:27.13, placing fifth. Sophomore Ty Breeden was just behind in sixth in 5:34.84. In the 3200-m run, the Hawks claimed fourth and fifth, with J. Dunsbergen running a personal best time of 12:03 and Gibbs finishing in 12:10.

Members of the boys track team celebrate what they hope will be the first of many meet wins last week at BCLUW, from left, laying in front: Gage Vander Leest; kneeling: Cody Gibbs, Elijah Collins, Ethan Wyma, Kemper Lukehart, Colten Arment, Josh Dunsbergen, Brevin Hansen, Carson Dunsbergen, Ty Breeden, Ryan Hofer, Kinnick McFarland; standing: Evan Squires, Nick Rea, Zane Fraker, Rylan James, Luke Jones, Jesse Van Wyk, Caden Dunsbergen, Drake Ehresman, Jason Craver, Corey McCoy, Grant Wehrle, Nate Stock, Sage Zylstra, and Tyson Vander Linden.